BANGOR, Maine — For the second time in four years, the Bangor City Council has selected Susan Hawes to serve as chairwoman.

Hawes edged out Rick Bronson in a 5-4 vote Monday morning during a meeting that also featured the swearing in of new councilors Nelson Durgin and Charles Longo.

The narrow vote was preceded by a three-way stalemate that forced councilors to rethink their votes. Initially, Hawes, Bronson and Cary Weston were nominated to serve as chairman, and in the first vote each received support from three councilors. For the second vote, Weston withdrew his name, which allowed his supporters to pick someone else.

Hawes said she was honored to serve and she defended the open debate. “I think people see 5-4 and assume it wasn’t a good vote,” she said. “But this is how it’s supposed to work.”

Last November, Richard Stone was elected as chairman, besting Hawes by one vote.

Immediately following the Monday’s council meeting, the Bangor School Committee convened and unanimously elected Phyllis Guerette as chairwoman for the fourth consecutive year. Her predecessor, Martha Newman, chaired the school committee for 17 consecutive years.

New School Committee members Jay Ye and Kate Dickerson also were sworn in Monday.