BANGOR — Five area high school graduates received Youth Merit Scholarships from the Rotary Club of Bangor during its weekly meeting on June 7.

The recipients — Keji Xu and Tynesha Dias of Bangor High School, Jennifer Morrill and Andrew Babbitt of John Bapst Memorial High School, and Kate Wypyski of Brewer High School — expressed their appreciation and told Rotarians how they will use the funds to further their educational plans.

Scholarship winners, nominated for the award by their high schools, were selected from a pool of several hundred seniors in the Bangor area. The criteria for the scholarships were academics, leadership, activities, citizenship, essay quality and references. In addition, the selection committee looked at how the nominees demonstrated the four ideals outlined in Rotary’s foundational questions: Is it the truth? Is it fair to all concerned?  Will it build goodwill and better friendships?  Will it be beneficial to all concerned?

“These seniors represent the very best in our young people,” said scholarship chairman Shawn Yardley. “Over the years, many have returned to our club to share the great work they’re doing in college and in their professional careers.” The Bangor Rotary has presented Youth Merit Scholarships to local high school graduates since 1991, distributing more than $120,000 to 60 deserving seniors.

Established as the world’s first service club in 1905, Rotary International has more than 1.2 million members in 200 countries. Members volunteer their time and talents to improve conditions worldwide and to further the Rotary motto, “Service above Self.”

The Rotary Club of Bangor meets at noon Tuesdays at Wellman Commons, 300 Union St. To learn more, visit