BREWER, Maine — Two of the elder statesmen on a fairly youthful Bangor American Legion baseball team that battled its way to the state tournament this summer have earned Zone 1’s top postseason awards.

The Comrades’ Dylan Morris has been named player of the year while teammate Curtis Worcester is the pitcher of the year, according to a vote of the zone’s seven head coaches.

In addition, Dave Morris, who guided Bangor to a 16-2 regular-season record and a 20-4 overall mark this summer, was chosen by his peers as the zone’s coach of the year while Tom Grant was recognized as the zone’s umpire of the year, according to Zone 1 commissioner Dave Paul.

Dylan Morris, who will be a sophomore at the University of Southern Maine this fall, batted .579 this summer with one home run, four doubles, 27 hits, 24 RBI and 21 walks. The catcher also was instrumental in leading the Bangor pitching staff, which had three complete-game victories during the zone tournament.

Worcester, who will join Morris at USM in the fall, spearheaded that pitching staff as the left-hander compiled a 6-0 record with a 1.05 earned run average and 65 strikeouts.

Morris and Worcester were two of Bangor’s four first-team Zone 1 all-stars and zone-leading nine players selected to either the first or second team.

Motor City of Bangor, which matched Bangor’s 16-2 regular-season record but lost out to the Comrades for the zone tournament’s No. 1 seed based on head-to-head competition — Bangor won the season series 2-1 — had a zone-leading six first-team all-stars. Brewer and Northern Lumber of Millinocket each had three first-team choices while Hampden and Penquis of Dover-Foxcroft each had one first-team honoree.

Other first-team selections from Bangor are pitcher Greg Duff (5-1, 2.78 ERA) and center fielder Christian Corneil (.421, 1 HR, 3 triples, 7 doubles, 35 hits and 26 runs scored).

Motor City’s first-team contingent is composed of pitchers Max Andrews (2-1, 1 save) and Cody Collins (2-0, 3.27 ERA, 30 strikeouts), first baseman Sean O’Donnell (.409, 1 HR, 20 RBI), second baseman Evan Pelkey (.352, 2 HR, 18 RBI and 17 runs), shortstop Casey Estes (.434, 10 doubles, 40 hits and 26 runs) and outfielder Andrew Catlin (.397, 19 hits, 16 runs).

Representing Brewer on the first team are pitcher Dennis O’Neil (5-2, 2.90 ERA, 45 strikeouts), catcher Jordan Carter (.485, 1 HR, 12 RBI, 23 runs) and utility player Nick Moore (.344, 7 doubles, 13 RBI).

Northern Lumber first-team choices are catcher Jordan Morrow (.444, 22 runs, 8 RBI, 6 stolen bases), outfielder Logan McLaughlin (.443, 4 doubles, 17 RBI, 16 runs) and utility player Dustin Sawtelle (.357, 4 HR, 3 doubles, 20 RBI, 14 runs).

Matt Palmer of Hampden and David Lord of Penquis round out the first team. Palmer, a third baseman, batted .438 with six home runs, four triples, six doubles and 26 RBIs. Lord, an outfielder, batted .353 with eight doubles, 14 walks and eight stolen bases.

Bangor’s second-team contingent consists of pitcher Justin Courtney, first baseman Bryan Rouleau, second baseman Nic Cota, outfielder Seth Freudenberger and designated hitter Brendan Moore.

Joining that group on the second team are outfielder Cameron Archer of Motor City; pitcher Kyle McLain, third baseman Billy DeRedin, outfielder Tyler French and utility player Tony Bissell, all of Brewer; pitcher Cody Caruso, catcher Dylan Graffam and shortstop Ryan Rebar, all of Penquis; and pitcher Jon Dumas of Northern Lumber.

Ernie Clark

Ernie Clark is a veteran sportswriter who has worked with the Bangor Daily News for more than a decade. A four-time Maine Sportswriter of the Year as selected by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters...