BANGOR — On April 8, nine undergraduate students enrolled at Husson University, University of Maine and Eastern Maine Community College received $1,000 scholarships at a recognition ceremony at Eastern Maine Medical Center. The awards, given by EMMC’s medical staff, support the students in their studies of occupational therapy, physical therapy, pathology, nursing and medical assistance. Husson University winners are Ashlee Hamann, Andrew Turner and Christina Dossett.

University of Maine winners are Jaime Roy, Amber Oakes and Allison Scully.

Eastern Maine Community College winners are Melissa Boudreau, Zeida McGuire and Cindy Cyr.

“We like to encourage Maine students to pursue healthcare careers right here at home,” said Dr. Ashley Robertson, president of the medical staff and medical director of care management. “As leaders in the Bangor medical community, we recognize the importance of inspiring a new generation of students to become our partners in delivering care to future patients.”