ORONO — More than 300 students and teachers from 36 middle and high schools in nine counties participated in the Maine National History Day competition at the University of Maine on March 28.

The event was made possible by a partnership between UMaine and the Margaret Chase Smith Library, with support from the Maine Humanities Council and the Maine Historical Society.

National History Day is an academic program that began in 1980 to promote critical thinking, research and presentation skills through project-based learning for students of all abilities. More than a half million students, working with thousand of teachers, participate in the national contest annually.

Student exhibits, websites, documentaries and performances were judged and awards were presented in an afternoon ceremony. The top state winners are eligible to compete in the national contest in Washington, D.C. in June.

A public recognition ceremony for the state NHD award winners was held April 7 in Augusta’s Cultural Building atrium in partnership with the Maine State Archives, Museum and Library.

Area winners are:

  • Bangor High School Nick Danby of Bangor, third place, individual documentary, senior division, for “Adlai Stevenson and the Rise of the Modern Political Candidate;” Kathleen Dunn of Bangor, second place, individual website, senior division, for “The Leadership and Legacy of Alfred Kinsey.”
  • Hermon High School: Racheal Cousins of Carmel, Madalyn Jackson and Kaylee Ouellette of Hermon and Garrett Kipler of Levant, first place, group exhibit, senior division, for “Clara Barton and the Red Cross;” Kaarie Burns of Levant and Jordan Ryder of Carmel, second place, group exhibit, senior division, for “Deborah Sampson: Women in the Military;” Austin Morse of Hermon, second place, paper, senior division for “Henry Ford;” Tyler Beaton, Jonathan Bergeron, Alexis Hake and Jonathan Smith, all of Hermon, third place, group website, senior division for “Jackie Robinson;” Kasey Holland of Hermon, third place, individual website, senior division, for “Margaret Chase Smith;” Amber Chasse of Hermon and Kayla McLeish and Nia Watson, both of Levant, second place, group, documentary, senior division, for “The Legacy of Samantha Smith.”
  • Holbrook Middle School: Cannon Breen and Trey Stimpel, both of Holden, second place, group, documentary, junior division, for “Ronald Reagan;” Grace Beaulieu, Rebecca Gideon, Riley Satterfield, Abigail Tyler and Adelaide Valley, all of Holden, third place, group, exhibit, junior division, “Samantha Smith: Maine Warmth in the Cold War;” Cedi Doering and Damian Sheffer, both of Holden, first place, group, website, junior division, for “The Career of Margaret Chase Smith: A Legacy That Paved The Way For Women In Politics.”
  • James F. Doughty School: Jennifer Le of Bangor, second place, paper, junior division, for “Franklin D. Roosevelt (FDR) The Greatest Leader of All.”

• Orono High School: Liza Gallandt of Orono, second place, individual, documentary, senior division, for “Gertrude Bell: Her Fragile Legacy in Modern Iraq;” Patienze McIntyre of Orono, third place, paper, senior division, for “Henry Wadsworth Longfellow’s Legacy.”