A voter exits a booth in Maine Credit: Ashley Conti

Orono voters chose Laurie Osher and Terry Greenier to serve three-year terms on the Orono Town Council during the annual municipal election held Tuesday.

Voters were allowed to choose two candidates from the four running. The other two candidates were Daniel LaPointe and Adam Toothaker.

Osher was the only incumbent on the ballot. She was first elected to the council in a special election in November 2017 to fill a vacancy on the council. She received 407 votes Tuesday.

Greenier was the only candidate who had served a full term on a city council before, having served on the Fort Fairfield Town Council before moving to Orono. Some 389 voters chose him, according to unofficial results from the town.

Toothaker, new to local politics, said he ran because he was concerned about Orono’s high tax rate. He received 338 votes.

LaPointe, who said he wanted to form a volunteer, resident militia under the assessor’s office to run some town services, received 77 votes.

Orono residents also had a school board election, in which incumbent member Geoffrey Wingard ran for re-election unopposed.

Also on the ballot were eight questions asking Orono voters if they wanted to make changes to their town charter, which hadn’t been changed in 50 years.

Voters approved all eight ballot questions.

One of the most significant questions asked voters whether they favored raising the threshold amount to $100,000 from $50,000 for putting town spending proposals for capital projects to a townwide vote. Voters approved that change 426-200.

Another noteworthy ballot question was a proposal to reduce the number of signatures needed to override a council decision or enact an ordinance by public initiative. Voters approved that change 393-222.

Under the change, residents can now force a town-wide vote to override a council decision or enact an ordinance by public initiative by gathering the signatures of 10 percent of voters who cast ballots in the last gubernatorial election. The town charter previously set the signature collection requirement higher — at 10 percent of all registered voters.

While all eight ballot questions passed, the signature collection question drew the most opposition.