Candidates (left to right) Angela Okafor, Amy Roeder for city council and Marwa Hassanien for school committee greet voters at the Cross Insurance Center in Bangor on Tuesday.

Bangor voters have returned an incumbent to the City Council and chosen three others to join the body, including an immigrant from Nigeria.

Faced with the largest field of City Council candidates in at least 35 years, residents gave the most votes to incumbent Councilor Dan Tremble (2,083), Angela Okafor (1,881) and Rick Fournier (1,725), according to unofficial results. Okafor and Fournier will fill the seats of two councilors whose terms ended this fall and didn’t run for re-election: Gibran Graham and Cary Weston.

[election_race race=”20020″ source=”local” from=”shortcode” rr_message=”” rr_link=””]

Tremble, Okafor and Fournier will serve three years on the council.

The fourth highest vote-getter in Tuesday’s race, Susan Hawes (1,650 votes), will serve the two remaining years in the term of David Nealley, who left the nine-person council over the summer to move to Florida.

Credit: BDN file; Courtesy of candidates

A total of 11 residents ran for the four seats. The other candidates were: Allen “Seth” Braun, Stephen Brough, David Des Isles, Brian Cotlar, Brent Hawkes, Amy Roeder and Thomas White.

Tremble, 54, owns Fairmount Market on Hammond Street and the Ground Round Grill and Bar on Odlin Road. He’s just finishing a three-year term on the City Council.

Okafor, a 36-year-old attorney and business owner, just became a U.S. citizen this year after emigrating from Nigeria more than a decade ago.

Fournier, 60, works as a vice president at Bangor Savings Bank. He has had leadership roles with a number of local boards and organizations, including the Bangor Planning Board, the Bangor Water District and the American Folk Festival.

Hawes, 63, works as a dean of education at Beal College and has served multiple previous terms on the City Council. She is also just finishing her third term on the Bangor School Committee, where she serves as chairperson.