ROXBURY, Mass. — Bethanie Brown of Waterville and Kirstin Sandreuter of Greely of Cumberland Center led Maine’s participants at the 25th annual New England Interscholastic Boys and Girls Indoor Track and Field Championships held Friday night.

Brown, a junior, raced to a second-place finish in the girls mile. She was timed at 4 minutes, 56.35 seconds, just behind the meet record time of 4:54.57 run by Molly Keating of La Salle Academy in Providence, R.I.

Fiona Hendry of Cheverus of Portland finished ninth in the same race with a time of 5:12.57.

Sandreuter, a sophomore, placed second in the two-mile run in 10:57.15, six seconds behind Reid Watson of Glastonbury, Conn. (10:51.30).

Among other Maine schoolgirl participants in the meet, held at the Reggie Lewis Track and Field Athletic Center on the campus of Roxbury Communty College, Emily Tolman of Scarborough placed fourth in the 600 with a time of 1:35.65, while Ellsworth sophomore Aleta Looker placed fifth in the 1,000 in 2:58.16.

Carly McKenna of Thornton Academy of Saco placed 10th in the high jump with a best effort of 5 feet, 3 inches.

Brewer High School junior Teal Jackson finished 12th in the 300 with a time of 41.73.

Maine’s top schoolboy competitor in the meet was Madison senior Matt McClintock, who finished third in the two-mile with a time of 9:20.02. McClintock was fourth-tenths of a second faster than fourth-place Harlow Ladd of Messalonskee of Oakland (9:20.42).

Ellsworth sophomore Dan Curts placed 11th in the two-mile with a time of 9:38.02.

Nick Margitza of Waterville finished fifth in the shot put (22-10½), while Orono senior Miguel Caballero placed eighth in the long jump (21-3¼) and 11th in the 300 (36.90).

Jacob Campbell of Belfast finished 10th in the 300 (36.87).

Gorham’s Jesse Orach finished 10th in the mile (4:31.75), while Bangor’s David Correale placed 12th in the 1000 (2:47.23).

Avatar photo

Ernie Clark

Ernie Clark is a veteran sportswriter who has worked with the Bangor Daily News for more than a decade. A four-time Maine Sportswriter of the Year as selected by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters...