ORONO, Maine — Team Canada member Marko Pirovic of Bolton, Ontario, has signed a National Letter of Intent to attend the University of Maine men’s basketball team this fall, men’s basketball head coach Ted Woodward announced in a press release Tuesday.

“We are very excited to have Marko join our basketball program,” Woodward said in the release. “Marko is a tremendous player and a great student. He has played on the elite level of Canada basketball including the Canadian Junior National team, and representing Team Canada in world competitions. He is a highly versatile player with a variety of skills on both ends of the court, shoots it, and rebounds at a strong level.”

Pirovic, a 6-foot-7 forward, was a member of the Canadian Junior National team that finished third in the FIBA Americas Tournament last summer in Brazil. He has been a representative for Team Canada for the FIBA 3-on-3 World Cup in both 2011 and 2012 where he was the tournament’s second leading scorer.

Pirovic was a member of Team Ontario at both the 15 and under and 17U level, winning the national championship in 2009 and 2011. He averaged a double-double and broke the finals record for rebounds in a game with 26. He recently averaged 21.7 ppg and 8.4 rpg playing for Thornlea Prep in Thornhill, Ontario, this past season.

The eligibility of all student-athletes is contingent upon admission to the University of Maine and compliance with all NCAA rules, including registration with the NCAA Clearinghouse.

Husson golf team in NCAA tourney May 14

The Husson University men’s golf team, winner of seven straight North Atlantic Conference championships, has been selected to compete in the NCAA Division III men’s golf championships May 14-17 at the Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, in Destin, Fla.

A total of 210 participants will compete at the championships. Thirty conferences were awarded automatic qualification for the championships. Four teams were selected from Pool B, which consists of independent institutions and institutions that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification.

The final seven berths were reserved for Pool C, which are institutions from automatic-qualifying conferences that are not the conference champion and any remaining Pool B teams. The top-five individuals are selected from the remaining players who have not qualified with a team.