VASSALBORO, Maine — A group of new police officers earned their badges Friday upon graduating from Maine’s Criminal Justice Academy.

Department of Public Safety spokesman Stephen McCausland said the 42 new officers completed 18 weeks of study and training.

Criminal law, traffic law, first aid, firearms and emergency vehicle operation were among the subjects the graduates were taught, according to McCausland. Chief Judge of the Maine District Courts Charles LaVerdiere delivered the graduation speech.

The new officers and their respective jurisdictions are as follows: Krista M. Lee, Auburn Police Department; Laura Drouin, Augusta Police Department; Kristopher M. Beck, Keith W. Larby, Joseph L. Orcutt and Jose M. Vidaurri, Bangor Police Department; Jeffrey P. Galasyn, Biddeford Police Department; Michael D. Wilson, Brewer Police Department; Michael H. Nourse, Buxton Police Department; Michael T. Raymond, Farmington Police Department; Jerod R. Verrill, Freeport Police Department; Brandon E. Bezio, Port Clyde for the Maine Marine Patrol; DeniAnne Dow, Boothbay Harbor for the Maine Marine Patrol; Lucas I. Bellanceau and William N. Shuman, Maine Warden Service; Zachary R. Bisson, Mechanic Falls Police Department; Robert M. Cook, Milo Police Department; Dana L. Austin, Mount Desert Police Department; Stephen J. Cronce, Norway Police Department; Andrew R. Whitney, Oxford County Sheriff’s Office;

Kyle O. Brake, Nicholas A. Gowen, Joseph E. Jaynes, Jennifer M. Lamperti and Erik M. Richard, Portland Police Department; Ryan T. Eagles, Presque Isle Police Department; Robbie I. Shaw, Rockport Police Department; Jacob P. Shirey, Rockland Police Department; David K. Brown II, Sabattus Police Department; Brian M. Carlton, Sagadahoc County Sheriff’s Office Department; Greggory M. Sevigny, Berwick Police Department; Richard E. Habr and Jonathan J. Stearns, South Portland Police Department; Max D. King, Thomaston Police Department; Chase P. Haass, Orono Police Department; Eric B. Robitaille, University of Maine Police Department; Kyle P. Wasiela, Waldo County Sheriff’s Office; Joshua D. Katuzny, Windham; Police Department; Bradley J. Hubert, Winslow Police Department; Derek B. Lucas, Yarmouth Police Department; and Jonathan D. Rogers, York Police Department.

Ryan McLaughlin

BDN sports reporter Ryan McLaughlin grew up in Brewer and is a lifelong fan of the New England Patriots, Boston Red Sox, Boston Celtics and Boston Bruins. In "The Boston Blitz" he'll be sharing his perspective...