BAR HARBOR, Maine — The Bangor Daily News received 15 first-place awards during the Maine Press Association’s annual banquet Saturday night at the Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Conference Center.

The BDN was recognized for outstanding work online and in the newspaper in its reporting, photography, videography, graphics, headline writing, editorial cartoons, election coverage, advertising and marketing. The news organization also took home 13 second-place awards and 16 third-place awards.

Bangor Daily News journalists who received first-place awards for their work include:

Visuals editor Brian Feulner, visual journalists Troy R. Bennett and Carter McCall, graphics director Eric Zelz, outdoors editor and blogger John Holyoke; reporter Mario Moretto, editorial cartoonist George Danby, page designer Chelsea Ellis, and the staff for its online coverage of the 2012 elections.

Honored with top awards for their work in advertising and marketing were BDN staffers Bridgit Cayer, Sam Wood, Shelley Sund, Beth Grant and Michelle Dwyer.

Lewiston Sun Journal reporter Lindsay Tice was named Journalist of the Year for her investigative reporting on health care and school security.

Michael Shepherd, a reporter for the Kennebec Journal, was presented with the Bob Drake Young Writer Award, which is presented each year to a journalist with less than two years experience whose work demonstrates ability and great potential.

Ellsworth American news clerk Nancy Larsen earned the inaugural Unsung Hero award for her service to readers and staff members.

The BDN took second place in the General Excellence categories for daily and weekend papers. The Portland Press Herald and Maine Sunday Telegram took first in those categories, respectively.

The Mount Desert Islander and York County Coast Star won top General Excellence awards in their respective weekly categories.

Earlier in the day, former BDN photographer and photo editor Scott Haskell was inducted into the MPA Hall of Fame. Also inducted were former Portland Press Herald editorial page editor Don Hansen and former sportswriter and publisher of the St. John Valley Times Emery “Legs” Labbe.

Jane Haskell accepted the award on behalf of her brother, reading an acceptance speech he wrote that included a passage about his growing up in a family of storytellers on Deer Isle.

“So I guess it’s no surprise that I became a storyteller, too, albeit a visual one, depending more on images and less on words,” Haskell wrote. “It is a great privilege and responsibility to tell the stories of Maine people and their communities: their daily lives, their struggles and triumphs. I’ve always admired the resiliency of Mainers.”

Haskell becomes the seventh Hall of Fame inductee from the BDN, joining former reporter Beurmond Banville, outdoors writer Ralph “Bud” Leavitt, editor Kent Ward, publisher Lillis Towle Jordan, reporter Ted Sylvester and photographer Bob DeLong.

Kelly Morgan, editor of the York Weekly and managing editor of Seacoast Media Group’s Maine weeklies, was elected MPA president during the organization’s annual business meeting.