NEW YORK — As expected Oregon Ducks quarterback Marcus Mariota won the Heisman Trophy Saturday night.

Mariota became the first Duck to win the award as college football’s best player and won it by a landslide margin of 1,284 points over Wisconsin junior running back Melvin Gordon. Mariota accumulated 2,534 points, which was the third-most in Heisman history behind Ohio State quarterback Troy Smith in 2006 and Texas running back Ricky Williams in 1998.

The soft-spoken Mariota credited his family and friends in his native Hawaii that watched him develop into a high school quarterback who did not start until his senior season and also cited his teammates that helped him make history on Saturday night.

“Ohana means family,” Mariota said in his press conference at the Marriott Marquis. “That’s it right there. In Hawaii, if one person is successful, then the entire state is successful. To be a part of that, it’s something special.”

Mariota received 90.6 possible votes, second only to Smith in 2006. He also became the fifth straight quarterback to win the award, the 32nd signal-caller to win the Heisman and first Hawaii native to win it.

The multi-talented junior completed 68.3 percent of his passes for 3,783 yards while throwing 38 touchdowns and only two interceptions this season as Oregon finished 12-1.

Mariota also rushed for 14 touchdowns while compiling 669 rushing yards on 117 carries, helping the Ducks finish No. 2 in the final College Football Playoff rankings and secure a meeting with No. 3 Florida State on Jan. 1 in the Rose Bowl in a playoff semifinal that will pit him against 2013 Heisman winner Jameis Winston.

After redshirting in 2011, Mariota won 35 of 39 games and has thrown 101 touchdown passes and only 12 interceptions while accumulating 10,125 passing yards. He is expected to be the top pick in the 2015 NFL draft if he forgoes his senior season.

Mariota also became the first Heisman winner from a Pac-12 school since USC running back Reggie Bush won in 2005 before forfeiting the award. He also was the first player from a Pac-12 school other than USC to win since Stanford’s Jim Plunkett in 1970.

Saturday also completed a sweep of major awards for Mariota. He won the Maxwell Award as college football’s most outstanding player after getting the Walter Camp Foundation Player of the Year and the Davey O’Brien Award for being the nation’s best quarterback.

Gordon, recipient of the Doak Walker Award as the nation’s top runner had 1,250 points, highlighted by 432 second-place votes. Gordon rushed for 2,336 yards this season — the fourth best single-season total in FBS history and led the nation in average rushing yards at 179.7 per game.

Gordon was bidding to be the Badgers’ first Heisman winner since running back Ron Dayne in 1999 and trying to join Alan Ameche as the third winner in school history.

Alabama wide receiver Amari Cooper, who won the Biletnikoff Award as the nation’s top receiver, finished with 1,023 points. He was the first member of the Crimson Tide to win that award after leading the nation with 115 receptions and 1,656 receiving yards.

Had Cooper won, he would have joined running back Mark Ingram Jr (2009) as the second Alabama player to win the award. He also would have been the first wide receiver to win since Michigan’s Desmond Howard in 1991.

Winston finished sixth with 51 total points.