PRESQUE ISLE, Maine — Adam Flynn has been named the new head varsity golf coach at Presque Isle High School, according to athletic administrator Mark White.

Flynn is a 2013 graduate of Presque Isle, where he played four years on the golf team as well as on the Wildcats’ ice hockey and varsity baseball squads.

The Caribou resident is finishing up his bachelor’s degree in secondary math education at the University of Maine.

Flynn is replacing Daren Hunter, who coached the Presque Isle golf team for three years.

NFF honorees announced

BRUNSWICK, Maine — The Howard Vandersea Chapter of the National Football Foundation has announced the 20 recipients for its 29th annual Scholar-Athlete awards.

Each honoree will receive a $500 grant from the Coach Mac-Huard Fund to support their higher education endeavors.

The award winners were honored at a Wednesday banquet at Bowdoin College’s Thorne Hall.

The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame is dedicated to mobilizing the constructive forces of amateur football, at all levels, for the benefit of society as a whole. The Howard Vandersea/State of Maine Chapter has been honoring scholar-athletes since its establishment in 1988.

This year’s honorees include Jackson Bernatchez of Messalonskee High School in Oakland, Chase Malloy of Madison, Tyler Ripley of Mount View in Thorndike, Walker Thomas of Lawrence High in Fairfield and Jacob Trask of Winslow.

The other winners are: Luke Arsenault, Kents Hill School; William Bessey, Brunswick; Travon Bradford, Kennebunk; Drew Chamberlain, Falmouth; Zachary Doyon, Marshwood; Kenneth Drelich, Cheverus; Erik Hogan, Old Orchard Beach; John Hughes, Scarborough; Otto Keisker, Noble; Austin McCrum, Thornton Academy; Isaac Patry, Thornton Academy; Carlton Robie, Kennebunk; Riley Robinson, Dirigo; Dalton Therrien, Oak Hill; and Nicholas Tice, Marshwood.