Messalonskee's Haley Lowell (right), pictured during the 2016 Class A North championship game against Skowhegan at Hampden Academy, has been named Miss Maine Field Hockey. Ashley L. Conti | BDN Credit: Ashley L. Conti | BDN

Midfielder Haley Lowell, who helped lead Messalonskee High School of Oakland to its third straight Class A North final this season, was selected Miss Maine Field Hockey on Sunday at a banquet in the Augusta Civic Center.

The other finalist was Boothbay Region High School forward Sydney Meader.

Lowell, who will be taking her field hockey skills to Boston University in the fall, registered seven goals and three assists along with a defensive save this fall. The Eagles went 14-3 and lost to eventual state champion Skowhegan 3-1 in the regional championship game.

She finished her career with 34 goals and 23 assists and she also made three defensive saves. She was a four-time all-state selection and Class A all-conference first-team choice.

Lowell used her talents and keen field vision to control the midfield. She triggered the attack and was also influential in organizing the defense.

Meader broke her own single-season school scoring record this fall by racking up 35 goals to go with two assists.

That was 11 more goals than she had scored in setting the school mark her junior year.

The speedy Meader, who will play for the University of Maine in the fall, wound up her impressive career with 83 goals and 17 assists.

Meader possesses a good, accurate shot and supplied the Seahawks with an effective aerial game thanks to her ability to flip the ball 25 to 30 yards downfield.

Meader is a three-time all-state and a four-time All-Mountain Valley Conference choice.

Boothbay went 13-3 last season and reached the Class C North semifinals.

The Maine Field Hockey Association also inducted retired Biddeford High School coach Madeline Goulet, former Gardiner High School and UMaine standout Lisa Densmore and the seniors from the 2003 Dexter High School team into its Hall of Fame.

Those Dexter players went 71-0-1 and won four state Class C championships during their four-year careers.

The MFHA named Maine Central Institute of Pittsfield’s Sarah Welch the winner of the Steph Lunt 12th Player Award; veteran Maine Majestix club team coach and administrator Amy Bernatchez earned the Distinguished Service Award and WABI TV-5 sports anchors Tim Throckmorton and Eric Gullickson were the recipients of the Media Award.

Follow BDN Maine Sports on Facebook for the latest in Maine high school and college sports.