Washington's Sam Timmins (14) looks for room to pass as the University of Maine's Andrew Fleming defends during a November 2019 game. Fleming plays his final home game for the Black Bears on Saturday. Credit: Elaine Thompson | AP

Men’s College Basketball


Time, site: 1 p.m. Saturday, Cross Insurance Center, Bangor

Records: UMaine 7-21 (3-11 America East), UMBC 14-15 (7-7)

Series: UMBC 22-13, UMBC 63-53 on 1/25/2020

Key players, Maine: 6-4 G Sergio El Darwich (14.8 points, 5.2 rebounds, 4.0 assists, 1.7 steals per game), 6-7 F Andrew Fleming (14.3 points, 6.3 rpg, 2.7 apg), 6-8 F Nedeljko Prijovic (9.7 ppg, 5.5 rpg), 6-9 F Stephane Ingo (4.1 ppg, 4.5 rpg, 1.3 blocks shots per game); UMBC: 6-2 G K.J. Jackson (13.4 ppg, 5.4 rpg, 4.2 apg, 1.7 spg), 6-3 G L.J. Owens (10.2 ppg), 6-10 F Brandon Horvath (10.6 ppg, 8.3 rpg), 6-3 G R.J. Eytle-Rock (10.1 ppg, 4.8 rpg, 3.5 apg), 6-8 F Dimitrije Spasojevic (9.1 ppg)

Game notes: UMaine will honor co-captains Fleming and El Darwich during the Black Bears’ Senior Day contest. The Black Bears enter its final two regular-season contests on the outside looking in at the eighth and final America East tournament spot. After Wednesday’s 77-70 loss to New Hampshire, UMaine is a half-game behind 4-11 Binghamton for that last playoff berth. That berth comes with a quarterfinal matchup at Vermont, which at 12-4 in league play has clinched the No. 1 seed. Binghamton inched ahead of UMaine on Wednesday with a 76-74 victory over a UMBC team that was coming off a two-point win at Vermont last Saturday and was riding a five-game winning streak overall. UMaine holds the tiebreaker over Binghamton if it can tie the Bearcats for eighth place, having swept its two regular-season meetings. While the Black Bears host UMBC and visit 9-6 Hartford on Tuesday to close out its schedule, Binghamton finishes up at New Hampshire on Saturday.

Ernie Clark

Ernie Clark is a veteran sportswriter who has worked with the Bangor Daily News for more than a decade. A four-time Maine Sportswriter of the Year as selected by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters...