Maddy McVicar of the University of Maine shoots over the outstretched arm of Stony Brook's Kaela Hilaire during a February 2020 America East game in Bangor. Credit: Courtesy of UMaine Athletics

The America East Conference Board of Presidents has unanimously voted to ban Stony Brook from playing in league championships for the remainder of the year, effective immediately.

The conference announced the decision on Wednesday. The vote upholds America East’s legislation pertaining to schools leaving the conference.

The board said the decision was not made lightly, but that the conference has an obligation to prioritize the remaining members who are committed to the league’s advancement and the student-athletes who compete at those institutions, now and in the future.

Stony Brook announced last week that it is leaving America East at the end of the year to join the Colonial Athletic Association. The decision to bar the team from the America East postseason will significantly alter the upcoming basketball tournaments.

Stony Brook’s women’s team is the defending tournament champ and is currently atop the standings with an 8-1 league record, 17-2 overall. The Seawolves were the regular season titleist two years ago and were about to host the University of Maine in the conference tournament championship game when COVID-19 ended the season.

The men’s basketball team is in second place at 5-2 and 13-7, respectively.

Stony Brook had asked the Board of Presidents to reconsider invoking Conference Constitution Article 3.4 (b), which states that upon notice of a school’s intention to withdraw from America East, its teams become ineligible to participate in America East conference championships on a date to be determined by the Board of Presidents.

Article 3.4 (b) was enacted in 2005 and Stony Brook was a conference member that supported the decision.

The last school to leave America East for another conference in all sports was Boston University, which announced in June 2012 that it was going to join the Patriot League on July 1, 2013.

The Terriers were not allowed to participate in the America East championships in their final season.