Deegan Tidswell of Mattanawcook Academy in Lincoln (right) works for position against Maddie Ripley of Oceanside in Rockland during the first round of their 113-pound final at the Class B wrestling state championships Saturday at Morse High School in Bath. Credit: Courtesy of Sarah Hatch Sutherland

Maddie Ripley narrowly missed becoming the first schoolgirl wrestler in Maine history to win an individual state championship while competing against boys last weekend.

But the sophomore from Oceanside High School in Rockland came back to win the 113-pound weight-class title at the state girls’ wrestling individual championships held Wednesday at Mattanawcook Academy in Lincoln.

Ripley, who reached the championship final in the same weight class before falling to Mattanawcook’s Deegan Tidswell by pin at Saturday’s Class B state championships, pinned Lilly Lebel of Mt. Ararat/Brunswick in her lone match at the girls’ championships.

Ripley improved her record this season against both boys and girls to 35-2.

Thirty-two schoolgirl wrestlers from around the state competed in the event. Other state champions crowned were Emma Shaw of Skowhegan (106 pounds), Savannah Easler of Camden Hills (120), Molly Sipple of Piscataquis of Guilford (126), Delani Rector of Morse High School in Bath (132), Anna Plessinger of Fryeburg Academy (138), Hayleigh Martz of Camden Hills (160), Paige Anderson of Bucksport (182) and Kloee Moore of Old Town (220).

Other runners-up were Layla Purcell of Mt. Ararat/Brunswick (106), Izzy Lamb of Washington Academy in East Machias (120), Jazmyne Rines of Bucksport (126), Naomi Bragg of Bucksport (132), Elizabeth Bernier of Bucksport (160), Alexia Hopkins of Belfast (182) and Aubrie Cobb of Morse (220).

The girls individual championships came one day after the state duals team championships held at Fryeburg Academy.

Mattanawcook Academy of Lincoln, which last Saturday won the Class B state championship, added the Class B duals title to its resume with a 54-30 victory over Morse in the final.

Coach Matthew Lindsay’s team advanced to the final match with a 48-36 quarterfinal victory over York and a 48-28 win over Wells in the semifinals.

Sanford won the Class A duals championship, defeating Kennebunk 58-21 in its final match.

Avatar photo

Ernie Clark

Ernie Clark is a veteran sportswriter who has worked with the Bangor Daily News for more than a decade. A four-time Maine Sportswriter of the Year as selected by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters...