Voters in Orono fill out ballots during the town's annual election in the town council chambers March 8, 2022. Credit: Sawyer Loftus / BDN

Voters in Orono elected three new town councilors Tuesday and unseated the only incumbent councilor vying to keep his seat. 

Terry Greenier was the only incumbent on the ballot in Tuesday’s election running to keep his seat on the seven-member council, but he lost his re-election bid by 32 votes. He was initially elected to a three-year council term in 2019.

Sonja Birthisel won one seat with 449 votes, and Leo Kenney garnered 269 votes, edging out Greenier. Both Birthisel and Kenney were elected to three-year terms, replacing Greenier and Laurie Osher, who didn’t seek re-election.

ORONO, Maine — An Orono poll worker helps sign in two voters during the town’s municipal elections in the town council chambers, March 8, 2022. (Sawyer Loftus | BDN)

Robert Laraway was elected to serve on the council for two years to finish out former Councilor Laura Mitchell’s term. Mitchell resigned from the council in November. 

Five candidates ran for the two open seats to serve three-year terms. Two candidates competed for the one seat to serve a two-year term. 

Two new members were also elected to the Regional School Unit 26 school board Tuesday, though there was no competition for either of their seats. RSU 26 serves Orono.

Current school board member Patrick Rowe did not seek reelection. Noah Charney will replace Rowe and serve a three-year term.

Kevin Roberge will fill a one-year term on the board, finishing out the remaining time on Erin Ellis’ three-year term. Ellis was elected to the board in 2020, and Elizabeth Hufnagel was appointed to replace her after Ellis resigned.

A total of 767 ballots were cast during Tuesday’s election.

Sawyer Loftus is an investigative reporter at the Bangor Daily News. A graduate of the University of Vermont, Sawyer grew up in Vermont where he worked for Vermont Public Radio, The Burlington Free Press...