HERMON, Maine — Kris Watson of Hermon led 49 of 50 laps Saturday night to win the Super Street feature at Speedway 95.

Shane Tatro of Dixmont led lap 48 as he battled Watson and wound up second followed by Duane Seekins of Stockton Springs, Artie Maguire of Bucksport and Winterport’s Travis Beale.

Lewis Batcheldor of Dixmont won the final of three series races in the Sport Four division and won the championship by eight points over LaGrange’s Rick Grant.


Pro-Limited: 1. Brenton Parritt (Steuben), 2. Shane Clark (Winterport), 3. Rowland Robinson Jr. (Steuben), 4. Duane Seekins (Stockton Springs), 5. Dale Swoboda (Hermon); Strictly Streets: 1. Jordan Pearson (Glenburn), 2. Wayne Parritt Jr. (Steuben), 3. Brad Norris (Ellsworth), 4. Ren Dorr (Addison), 5. Shawn Hamel II (Bangor); Sport Four (Series 3 of 3): 1. Lewis Batchelder (Dixmont), 2. Steve Moulton (Glenburn), 3. Jason Trundy (Old Town), 4. David Shorey (Old Town), 5. Rick Grant (LaGrange); Trucks: 1. Steve Moulton (Glenburn), 2. Jordan Pearson (Glenburn), 3. Anthony Moore (Brewer), 4. Andrew Crosby (Hermon), 5. Brett Crosby (Hermon)

Winterport Dragway

Dan Emerson of Hermon beat Calais’ Don Joy to the line to win the Super Pro/Pro Final on Sunday.


Super Pro Eliminator: 1. Dan Emerson (Hermon), 2. Phil French (Orland), semifinalist Randy Therrien (Unity); Pro Eliminator: 1. Don Joy (Machias), 2. Chris Cole (Belgrade), semifinalist Cici Eberle (Searsmont); Camaro vs. Mustang Shootout: 1. Jamie Ross (St. George, N.B.), 2. Nelson Leeman (St. George, N.B.), semifinalist Carl Leeman (St. George N.B.); Nostalgia Race: 1. Steve Richardson (Clinton), 2. Bill Dammier (Deer Isle), semifinalists John Kaiser (Mapleton), Nelson Leeman (St. George, N.B.); Chevy Day: 1. Roberta Chubbuck (Argyle Township), 2. Jim Smith (Gardiner), semifinalist Dale Hustus (Searsport); Bikes/Sleds: 1. Brittany Marsten (Fairfield), 2. Kevin Martin (Milford), semifinalist Jim Hess (Scarborough); Pro Street Eliminator: 1. Jodi Herrick (Stockton Springs), 2. Dale Hustus (Searsport), semifinalist Jamie Ross (St. George, N.B.); Street Trophy: 1. Bill Dammier (Deer Isle), 2. Brock Wakefield (Unity), semifinalists Dale Hustus (Searsport), Wayne Chadwick (China)

Oxford Plains Speedway

Jay’s Justin Karkos rallied from a lap down to take the lead from Steve Barker of Jay on lap 83 to win the 100-lap Mini Stock feature. Barker finished second with Kevin Bishop of South Paris in third, Jay’s Ashley Marshall fourth and Bill Childs Sr. of Leeds fifth.


Late Model: 1. Jeff White (Winthrop), 2. Tommy Ricker (Poland), 3. Dennis Spencer Jr. (Oxford), 4. Don Wentworth (Otisfield), 5. Travis Adams (Canton); Strictly Stock: 1. Tommy Tompkins (Carthage), 2. B.J. Chapman (Bridgton), 3. Skip Tripp (Poland), 4. Larry Emerson (Durham), 5. Mike Short (Auburn); Outlaw: 1. Keith Landry (Oxford), 2. Zach Bowie (Mechanic Falls), 3. Tom Averill (Peru), 4. John Patria (Turner), 5. Kevin Leighton (Minot); Runnin’ Rebel No. 1: 1. Brady Romano (Livermore Falls), 2. Jeff Hebert (Auburn), 3. Jeff Beaule (Lewiston), 4. Craig Farrington (Hebron), 5. Brandon Munroe (New Gloucester); Runnin’ Rebel No. 2: 1. Zach Audet (Chesterville), 2. Jason Berry (Turner), 3. Kyle Hewins (Leeds), 4. Doug Degroat (Oxford), 5. Troy Jordan (Turner); Sport Truck: 1. Jake Burns (Gray), 2. Ryan Farrar (Oxford), 3. John Lizotte (Mechanic Falls), 4. Ross Spurling (New Gloucester), 5. Tom Libby (Gorham); Ladies: 1. Vanna Brackett (Buckfield), 2. Dottie Patria (Turner), 3. Lisa Brooks (Auburn), 4. Kimberly Sessions (Auburn), 5. Debbie Marston (Hartford)


Burton, Kahne falter

BRISTOL, Tenn. — Championship contenders Jeff Burton and Kasey Kahne had rough races Saturday night, neither making it to the midway point of the Sharpie 500.

Burton, who started the night fifth in points, was running fifth on lap 196 when his car was hit from behind and he couldn’t avoid slamming into the spinning car of Sterling Marlin in front of him. Burton climbed from his car and he never made it back onto the track.

It seemed the drivers behind Burton hadn’t seen the accident unfolding before them.

“Typical Bristol wreck,” Burton said. “But if you look in front of you, you tend not to hit stuff. I was trying to be smart and cautious, but it didn’t do me any good.”

Burton, though, was in no danger of falling out of the playoffs with one bad night.

Kahne, who started the night 11th in points, was caught up in an accident that started when Casey Mears tried to move into the front of a line of cars, clipped the one of Michael Waltrip right behind him and triggered impact that sent cars spinning and banging all over.

“We were just blocked in behind a bunch of cars and then a bunch of cars in front of me started wrecking,” said Kahne, who dropped to 14th in the points race with three races left. Only the top 12 drivers can contend for the championship.

Mears was less than amused to have caused the melee and blamed his spotter, saying he only tried to move into the front of the line after hearing his spotter assure him it was clear.

“I like my spotter. He’s a good guy, but man, that’s ridiculous,” he said. “We just took out a bunch of cars for no reason, and ourselves. I’m pretty upset about it.”

The mess caused a red flag delay of 12 minutes, 19 seconds.

The race was also a bust for Jimmie Johnson, who was involved in an early mishap that caused him to pit twice under green, dropping him 13 laps off the pass when he came out.

He rallied to finish 34th and fell one spot to fourth in the point standings.