VASSALBORO, Maine — Maine’s 53 newest police officers have graduated from the Maine Criminal Justice Academy in Vassalboro, and some are likely to be on patrol during the Memorial Day weekend.

Attorney General Janet Mills was the keynote speaker at Friday’s commencement. State Police Trooper Recruit Gregory Roy of Lisbon Falls was the class valedictorian.

The new officers completed 18 weeks of study and training in such areas as criminal and traffic enforcement, sexual assault, domestic violence, first aid, firearms and crime scene processing.

Among the local graduates (by department) are:

Bangor Police: Officers Joseph D. Baillargeon, William K. Haefele, and Joshua J. Wotton

Belfast Police: Officer Daniel P. Fitzpatrick II

Bucksport Police: Officer Daniel M. Harlan

Caribou Police: Officer Corey J. Saucier

Ellsworth Police: Officer Andrew R. Weatherbee

Hancock County Sheriff’s Office: Deputy Christopher R. Sargent

Houlton Police: Officer Kristin J. Calaman

Lincoln County Sheriff’s Office: Deputy Justin S. Drake

State Police: Trooper Recruit Jonathan K. Russell, Woodstock

Millinocket Police: Officer Gary R. Lakeman II

Mount Desert Police: Officer Jacob E. Day

Newport Police: Officer Amanda L. Smith

Orono Police: Officer Daniel B. Merrill

Rockland Police: Officer Andrew L. Redden

Rockport Police: Officer Dana E. Smith Jr.

Southwest Harbor Police: Officer Aaron P. Arsenault

University of Maine Department of Public Safety: Officer Shane F. Hughes

Van Buren Police: Officer Dustin D. Charette

Waldoboro Police: Officer Michel P. Dutil

Waldo County Sheriff’s Office: Deputy Gerald R. Lincoln Jr.