Want to share something through School News? Send it along. Items are due at least seven to 10 days before the Thursday of publication. Email: beacon@bangordailynews.com. Mail: The Beacon, P.O. Box 1329, Bangor 04402


Phi Beta Kappa

The Phi Beta Kappa Association of Maine has announced the 2011 Academic Achievement Award winners. This year, 120 high schools throughout the state participated in the award program.

Phi Beta Kappa is the oldest and most prestigious college honor society in the United States. Phi Beta Kappa Academic Achievement Awards are conferred on one high school junior in each participating school who is going on to higher education and demonstrates high academic achievement and intellectual curiosity in and beyond the classroom. By sponsoring these awards, the Phi Beta Kappa Association of Maine seeks to reward outstanding high school students and to foster a greater commitment to the study of the liberal arts and sciences. Area honorees are:

• Bangor Christian School, Samantha Martin.

• Bangor High School, Joshua Elwood.

• Belfast Area High School, Kristen A. Martin.

• Boothbay Region High School, Kahla Vise.

• Brewer High School, Eric Arnold.

• Bucksport High School.

• Camden Hills Regional High School, Richard D. Saltonstall.

• Central High School, Corinth, Katrina Lessard.

• Deer Isle-Stonington High School, Emily Cormier.

• Dexter Regional High School, Sarah Johnson.

• Ellsworth High School, Isabelle Vachon.

• Foxcroft Academy, Dover-Foxcroft, Christopher Shorey.

• George Stevens Academy, Blue Hill, Tatiana Urban.

• Georges Valley High School, Thomaston, Erika L. Brooks.

• Greenville Middle-High School, Steven W. Bilodeau.

• Hampden Academy, John Bjorn.

• Hermon High School, Ashley Harvey.

• Islesboro Central School, Dashiell Marley.

• John Bapst Memorial High School, Bangor, Katherine Morelli.

• Jonesport-Beals High School, Robbi Carver.

• Katahdin High School, Stacyville, Sonja Williams.

• Lincoln Academy, Newcastle, Hunter Reid.

• Machias Memorial High School, William Baker.

• Madison Area Memorial High School, Alex Helderman.

• Maine Central Institute, Pittsfield, Paula Arias.

• Mattanawcook Academy, Lincoln, Erica McPhail.

• Medomak Valley High School, Waldoboro, Hillia Aho.

• Mount View High School, Thorndike, Anna Piotti.

• Narraguagus High School, Harrington, Rachel Eaton.

• Nokomis Regional High School, Joseph H. Garcia.

• North Haven Community School, Leta Hallowell.

• Old Town High School, Danielle Harrington.

• Orono High School, Alexander Bulteel.

• Penobscot Valley High School, Howland, Gary J. Bragdon.

• Penquis Valley High School, Milo, Stephanie Vachon.

• Schenck High School, East Millinocket, Justin Juchnik.

• Searsport District High School, Hannah Betit.

• Shead High School, Eastport, Shelby Seavey.

• Skowhegan Area High School, Aren R. LeBrun.

• Stearns High School, Millinocket, Lilly N. Dow.

• Sumner Memorial High School, Sullivan, Brianna Fernandez.

• Upper Kennebec Valley Junior-Senior High School, Bingham, Hali McQuilken.

• Vinalhaven School, Blake Reidy.

• Washington Academy, East Machias, Nicole Harmon.

• Wiscasset High School, Abigail Ruth Foster.

• Woodland High School, Kimberly Carter.


University of Maine

WARREN — Mary Margaret Beaster of Warren made the dean’s list for the spring 2011 semester at the University of Maine.

Maine Media Workshops

ROCKPORT — Film veteran Louise Rosen will bring her experience to emerging and veteran filmmakers in the Financing and Distributing the Documentary course July 31-Aug. 6 at Maine Media Workshops. Rosen has worked with a wide range of film genres and formats and set up many major international co-productions. She has made Oscar, Emmy, Sundance, Prix Italia and International Emmy-winning films.

Students also will be exposed to the multidimensional global television marketplace; a primary source of funding and support for documentaries.

For complete course information, visithttp://www.mainemedia.edu, call 877-577-7700 or email info@mainemedia.edu.

University of Maine at Machias

WINTERPORT — Melody Tracy of Winterport was named to the dean’s list for the spring semester at the University of Maine at Machias.