BELFAST, Maine — The Bangor High School boys cross country team won its first Eastern Maine Class A championship since 2000 on Saturday, edging Mount Ararat of Topsham to win the regional title at Troy Howard Middle School.

Boys teams from Class B Caribou and Class C Bangor Christian also won Eastern Maine championships, while Mount Ararat (Class A), Camden Hills of Rockport (Class B) and Washburn (Class C) earned girls EM crowns.

Jon Stanhope’s 10th-place finish helped Bangor score 91 points to win the ‘A’ boys title, with Mount Ararat (103), Messalonskee of Oakland (109), Lewiston (122), Hampden Academy (136) and Brunswick (146) also advancing to next Saturday’s state meet at the Twin Brook Recreation Area in Cumberland.

David Correale improved his personal-best time by 50 seconds to finish 15th overall for the Rams, while Jonathan Belanger (18th), Jacob Archer (23rd) and Caleb Halvorson-Fried (24th) rounded out the Rams’ scoring contingent.

Mount Ararat was led by third-place Andy Reifman-Packett.

Harlow Ladd of Messalonskee won the ‘A’ boys race, covering the 3.1-mile distance in 16 minutes, 41.34 seconds, four seconds faster than runner-up Benson Worthington of Brunswick.

Caribou, the defending Class B state champion, edged Ellsworth 55-59 to win the Eastern B crown.

The Vikings placed all five scoring runners in the top 20, with Caleb Chapman fourth, Ron Lund seventh, Lucas Kinney 12th, Jesse Sandstrom 13th and Ryan Washington 20th.

That was just enough to defeat Ellsworth, which featured individual champion Dan Curts, a sophomore who finished in 16:41.9.

Matt Eager of Presque Isle was second, with Alex Beals of John Bapst of Bangor third.

Other teams qualifying for the state meet in Class B boys were John Bapst (108), Mount Desert Island (131), Waterville (150), Winslow (173), Presque Isle (179) and Medomak Valley of Waldoboro (197).

Bangor Christian dominated the Class C boys race, defeating second-place Orono 33-77. Junior Sam Proctor led the Patriots with a fourth-place finish, followed by teammates Zac Palmeter (fifth), Dylan Merchant (seventh), Seth Pearson (eighth), Brian Parent (18th) and Jace Schmidt (28th) as coach Kendall Jipson’s team overcame the continued loss of top-tier runner Bradley Wilcox, sidelined by a leg injury.

Matt Guiod of Mattanawcook Academy of Lincoln won the ‘C’ boys race in 17:27.54, followed by Orono’s Tyler White and Forrest Carle of Calais.

The girls competition was highlighted by the Class B showdown between Camden Hills and MDI, which entered the meet ranked 2-3 in the latest state coaches poll. The competition lived up to that billing, with Camden Hills edging its rival by a single point, 51-52.

Sophomore Brittany Bowman and freshman Willow Parker paced Camden Hills, placing second and third behind individual champion Bethanie Brown of Waterville, who was timed in 18:59.74.

MDI placed all five of its scorers, led by freshman Caroline Driscoll, between seventh and 13th place, but Camden Hills used late surges from Emily Lopez (10th), Lily Kassen (17th) and Samantha Morse (21st) to slip past the Trojans in the team scoring.

Also advancing to the state meet were John Bapst (96), Caribou (110), Waterville (116) and Ellsworth (137).

In Class C, individual winner Carsyn Koch (20:28.46) led Washburn to its regional title with a 45-61 victory over second-place Orono.

Koch was one of three Washburn runners among the top seven finishers, with fellow sophomore Carmen Bragg fourth and freshman Mackenzie Worcester seventh. Freshmen Marianne Helton (16th), Joan Overman (25th), Mikayla Churchill (28th) and Hannah Heald (30th) also aided the Beavers’ cause.

Orono was led by Rowan Wilson, who placed third overall behind Koch and Nelly Winship of Bucksport. Jordan Richards added a fifth-place finish for the Red Riots.

Joining Washburn and Orono at the state meet will be Bucksport (81) and George Stevens Academy of Blue Hill (83).

Mount Ararat placed its five scoring runners among the top 11 finishers to win the ‘A’ girls race, outpointing runner-up Brunswick 36-52. Kelly Lynch and Emma Wood led the Eagles with a 4-5 finish behind individual champion Erzsie Nagy of Lawrence of Fairfield (18:51.25), Teresa Murphy of Brunswick and Addie Cullenberg of Mt. Blue of Farmington.

Other teams in the top half of the field were Mt. Blue (99), Hampden Academy (104), Brewer (159), Lewiston (161) and Bangor (185).

Ernie Clark

Ernie Clark is a veteran sportswriter who has worked with the Bangor Daily News for more than a decade. A four-time Maine Sportswriter of the Year as selected by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters...