AUGUSTA, Maine — A trio of Maine counties will receive assistance in hefty costs for snow removal, Gov. Paul LePage’s office announced Friday.

A disaster declaration has been approved for Androscoggin, York and Cumberland counties. A damage assessment identified over $2.5 million in snow removal and response costs, along with repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities.

Sagadahoc County, which is still assessing costs, could potentially be added to the list as well.

Maine has seen record-breaking snow totals throughout the winter, thus the need for assistance for communities breaking their budgets.

“It is rare, and it should be, for a state like Maine to qualify for assistance for a snowstorm,” LePage said in a statement.

The governor added that a special Federal Emergency Management Agency policy allows states to apply for snow assistance when storms eclipse official snowfall records and meet financial thresholds statewide and county by county.

FEMA will reimburse municipalities and state agencies for 75 percent of their costs for at least 48 hours of snow removal, as well as costs associated with emergency protective measures and any infrastructure damage related to the storm.


Ryan McLaughlin

BDN sports reporter Ryan McLaughlin grew up in Brewer and is a lifelong fan of the New England Patriots, Boston Red Sox, Boston Celtics and Boston Bruins. In "The Boston Blitz" he'll be sharing his perspective...