AUGUSTA, Maine— Proposed legislation to add new restrictions for teen drivers in Maine is scheduled for a public hearing Tuesday afternoon before the Legislature’s Transportation Committee.

The proposed legislation, called Taylor’s Law, is sponsored by Sen. Kim Rosen, a Republican from Bucksport.

Rosen introduced the legislation in memory of 15-year-old Taylor Darveau, who was killed in a crash in Bucksport in 2013. A 16-year-old with only an intermediate license was behind the wheel. That driver, Samantha Goode, survived and later admitted in court to causing Darveau’s death

Goode was sentenced to 30 days with all but 10 days suspended and will be on probation until she turns 19 years old. Her license was suspended for five years.

Rosen’s legislation, LD 737, proposes several new restrictions for teenage drivers that include the following:

— Drivers under 18 with a learner’s permit only will be allowed to drive when accompanied by a licensed operator who is at least 25 years old and has had a license for at least three years.

— Drivers would be required to have their permit for a year.

— Sixteen- and 17-year-old drivers would need to display a decal on their car while holding their 9-month intermediate license. During that same time period they would no longer be able to drive after 10 p.m., unless driving between their place of employment and home.

The committee will hear testimony on the proposal Tuesday before meeting in the future to vote on whether to recommend it to the full Legislature. Draft language could be amended before then. The Maine Senate and House would have to vote to approve the changes before sending the bill to Gov. Paul LePage for his signature.