PORTLAND, Maine — Five outstanding high school student-athletes will receive $5,000 scholarships from the Maine Sports Hall of Fame at its 40th annual awards luncheon at noon Sunday, May 3, at the Augusta Civic Center.

The scholar-athletes recipients are Caleb Abbott of Freeport High School, Kevin Barrett of Thornton Academy in Saco, Caleb Gauvin of Mountain Valley High School in Rumford, Lydia Roy of Waterville Senior High School and Kathryn Taylor of Noble High School in North Berwick.

“Once again we are blessed with a superior class of scholars who combine the best of successes in competition and the classroom. How blessed we are,” Dick Whitmore, president of the Maine Sports Hall of Fame said in a news release.

Established in 1972, the organization awards scholarships to outstanding Maine high school scholar-athletes and honors Maine athletes and sports figures who have brought distinction and honor to the state.

Abbott has excelled in and captained soccer, Alpine skiing and tennis at Freeport; Barrett is a talented football and basketball player at Thornton Academy; Gauvin is a star football, basketball and baseball player at Mountain Valley; Roy, one of the most decorated student-athletes in central Maine, has participated in soccer, indoor track and field and outdoor track and field; and Taylor has played field hockey, basketball and softball for Noble.

On May 3, the Hall will also welcome nine new inductees: William (Bill) Alfond, Peter Carlisle, Glenn Dumont, Anna Goodale, Roger Levesque, Rob Pendergist, Marcie Lane Schulenberg, Eric Weinrich and Amy Winchester.

The public is invited to attend. Tickets to the banquet, which cost $50 for individuals, may be purchased through April 29. A reserved table for 10 is $450. Social hour starts at 11 a.m. and the buffet lunch begins at noon. To purchase tickets, visit mshof.com and click on the Banquet Tickets link or make checks payable to the Maine Sports Hall of Fame and mail them to Kelly Pinney-Michaud, 58 Town Farm Road, Oakland, ME 04963.