BANGOR, Maine — The Bangor Region Chamber of Commerce will recognize Andrew Hamilton, a local lawyer known for his volunteer work in the area, with its highest honor at its annual dinner on Jan. 21 at the Cross Insurance Center.

The chamber’s version of a lifetime achievement award, the Norbert X. Dowd Award is presented annually to a member of the business community whose commitment of time, resources and talent has made the Bangor region a better place to pursue one’s livelihood and dreams, chamber officials said Friday in announcing this year’s recipient.

A lawyer at Eaton Peabody, Hamilton has held leadership positions with the United Way of Eastern Maine, John Bapst Memorial High School and Unity College. He also chaired the chamber’s board of directors last year.

Also during the dinner, the chamber will recognize six others for their contributions to the region’s vitality:

— Business of the Year Award: Darling’s Auto. As one of Maine’s largest auto dealers, Darling’s Auto makes a conscious effort to give back to the community, both as a company and through their employees.

— Catherine Lebowitz Award for Public Service: D’arcy Main Boyington. The city of Brewer’s economic development director, she has been a tireless advocate for the area’s less fortunate through her work with the Bangor Area Homeless Shelter and her role in creating a local food hub.

— M. Jane Irving Community Service Award: Eastern Maine Community College. From the training support that the college offered nearly 100 idled workers to the expansion of its public safety programs, EMCC is investing in the community and bettering lives through education and training.

— Nonprofit of the Year Award: Greater Bangor Visitor and Convention Bureau. The organization is devoted to attracting visitors to the region and enhancing their experience once they arrive. Its initiatives include the Waterfront Car Show and the annual Beer Fest as well as support of the American Folk Festival and the Fireball Run.

— Arthur Comstock Professional Service Award: Ric Tyler. Besides volunteering as emcee for chamber events and other community causes, Tyler is a successful radio personality, group fitness instructor, creative video and audio campaign producer at Sutherland Weston and co-chair of the 2016 United Way campaign.

— Bion & Dorain Foster Entrepreneurship Award: Husson University. Husson recently announced a capital campaign for a new, innovative, state-of-the-art College of Business. The building will serve as a hub for entrepreneurial relationships between students and businesses and represent an infusion of capital into the community.

An additional award will be handed out at the Chamber’s annual Breakfast and Business meeting on Jan. 7. Selected by the chamber’s staff, the Chamber Volunteer of the Year award goes to a person who, through his or her volunteer efforts, has made an exceptional contribution to the chamber in furthering its mission. That honor is being given to David Dunning of S.W. Cole Engineering.

For more information, visit