ORONO — The following students at the University of Maine were recently initiated into The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines:

Jill Gardner, Martha Gladstone, Heather Landazuri, Yujin Lee, Karen Quirk, Katie Roberts, Quinn Silas and Athena Witham of Bangor;

Julia Cummings of Brewer;

Caitlin Hillery of Glenburn; 

Amy Sibley of Hampden; 

Neily Raymond of Hermon; 

Heather Van Dyne of Holden; 

Natalie Lolar of Indian Island; 

Llewellyn Searing of Milford; 

Victoria Hood and Mahnaz Vahdati of Old Town; 

Haley Albano, Prashanta Bajracharya, Mohammed Baten, Grace Bennett, Courtney Campbell, Ashley Case, Jillian Haggerty, Qikai Jiang, Simona Mitevsk and Percival Ulsamer of Orono; and

Elizabeth Leclerc of Penobscot.

They are among approximately 30,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni to be initiated into Phi Kappa Phi each year. Membership is by invitation only and requires nomination and approval by a chapter. Only the top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors are eligible for membership. Graduate students in the top 10 percent of the number of candidates for graduate degrees may also qualify, as do faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction.

Phi Kappa Phi was founded in 1897 under the leadership of undergraduate student Marcus L. Urann who had a desire to create a different kind of honor society: one that recognized excellence in all academic disciplines. Today, the Society has chapters on more than 325 campuses in the United States and the Philippines. Its mission is “To recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others.”