ROCKPORT, Maine — Gordon Salls of Sanford High School has been named the state’s Robert J. Lahey Athletic Administrator of the year by the Maine Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association.

Salls was one of several athletic administrators from around the state recognized during the MIAAA’s recent 44th annual spring conference and awards banquet.

Retired Stearns of Millinocket athletic director Don Dow was the recipient of the Martin E. Ryan Award of Excellence, while the Gerry Durgin Leadership award was presented to Jim Murphy, athletic administrator at George Stevens Academy of Blue Hill.

Gene Keene of Saint Dominic Academy in Auburn was presented the National Interscholastic Athletic Administrators Association State Award of Merit. Doran Stout of Erskine Academy of South China was nominated for the NFHS Citation, and Craig Sickels was nominated for the NIAAA Distinguished Service Award.

The MIAAA’s Distinguished Service-Local Level Award was presented to Cindy Rossi-Moore of Machias, and retired Westbrook athletic administrator Gary Groves received the Lawrence LaBrie Distinguished Service Award-Statewide

Don King of Poland Regional High School earned the state organization’s Past President’s Memorial Award for Special Achievement.

The MIAAA also presented four scholarships. Lily Koffman of Orono High School and Matthew Stewart of Bucksport each received a $500 senior scholar-athlete award. Payton Billingsly of Oceanside of Rockland-Thomaston and John Murphy of Brunswick each were presented a $250 scholar essayist scholarship.